New Short Story Available – “Birthday Present,” and a Nice Anecdote

Hey everyone. I have a new short story available in Boo Books’, We Can Improve You anthology. The moment I read the prompt for this anthology, a story called, “Birthday Present” popped into my mind and the finished result is now available in this collection about the weird, wonderful, and terrifying ways augmentations could affect humanity in the future.

However, the best part about this anthology (for me at least) is that I learned about it from a tweet by author Gav Thorpe. For those that don’t know Gav Thorpe, he is a prolific writer and one of the mainstays of publisher Black Library, which is responsible for Warhammer and Warhammer 40,000 fiction based upon the famed tabletop battle game. When I was a younger, less widely read boy of 14, I powered through any science fiction or fantasy book I could get my hands on and was particularly enamored with the unrelentingly grim worlds of Warhammer and Warhammer 40,000.

Though I enjoyed many of those early Black Library books, one omnibus (basically a large tome containing more than one book) moved me in a way I had not expected. This books was The Last Chancers by Gav Thorpe. It contained a trilogy of books about a suicide squad of convicted criminals sent into the most hellish war zones the universe had to offer, commanded by the dour and seemingly immortal, Colonel Schaeffer. Filled with action and unexpected heart, I loved it from beginning to end and have, in particular, always remembered its poignant, thoughtful last page.

Now, I am proud to say that I have been published in a collection with Gav Thorpe, one of my literary icons. Thank you for the inspiration, Mr. Thorpe. For everyone else, I hope you enjoy my story and the rest of this fun, thought-provoking anthology.

http://boobooks.net/bookshop/we-can-improve-you/

We Can Improve You

Leave a Reply

